What I Did On My Summer Vacation Volume Whatever – or Happiness

17 08 2008

The last few days has been spent watching paint dry. 

Between each coat of polyurethane I sanded and then reapplied.  There is nothing more disturbing than sanding a floor that is finally all pretty and shiny.  But it has to be done.  The first coat of finish really pulled up the grain of the wood, so although the pictures looked gorgeous, it ended up dulling the finish a bit and feeling rough.  After sanding and reapplication, though, it was right back to perfect.

I think I’m done. 

The weather has been sweltering for the Northwest and it is taking a bit longer for the finish to cure…but I don’t care.  My furniture can sit patiently outside while I do a dance of victory on my new floor.


Actions

Information

One response

17 08 2008
renn

That is one GORGEOUS FLOOR. If you ever want a ‘professional estimate’ (labor alone, no materials) on how much you saved doing this yourself, give me a holler.

I’m betting it’s in the low thousands.

Leave a comment