Testable Question – Can Shari Follow a Schedule for 4 Weeks?

22 01 2008

Hypothesis – No friggin’ way. 

Okay.  I am not the most organized person.  I have a nice planner that I barely use, but I just spent the last hour penciling the many activities, etc. that are coming up in the next month or so.  I will need to live by this thing if I am to get by.  This is difficult seeing that I don’t even own a watch because I dislike the control it wields over my life.

Here is a list of things I may or may not remember to go to….

Tomorrow – Violin Dress rehearsal 3:30 – 5:30

                       Violin Recital – 6:30 – 8:30  (and don’t forget a dozen cookies or cupcakes!)

Thursday – Science Club for Maya and Sophie 3:15-4:15

Saturday – Skating lessons 10:45-1:45

                    Piano Winter Festival 2:30-4:30

Monday – Piano lessons  6:00

Tuesday – Science Club for Sophie 3:15 – 4:15

Thursday – Science Club for Maya 3:15 -4:15

And interspersed in all of this is the busiest time of year for my job and Science Fair for the girls coming up on February 20th.  They have already begun their experiments.

Sophie is collecting data currently on who is most likely to wave at her when we pass them in our car on the freeway – men or women.  Women are some damned grumpy people.  Her hypothesis of “Men will wave more when I wave at them when we pass them in our car on the freeway” is being proven true with the data collected so far.  Ladies, please…for the love of all that is holy….wave at a kid now and then, will ya?

Maya is testing whether or not age affects the ability to identify smells.  The subjects are blindfolded, subjected to eight different smells, one at a time, and asked to identify them.  They are common things….vinegar, coffee, cinnamon, maple syrup, onion, peanut butter, and chocolate.  It is amazing how hard it is to identify things by smell when you can’t see them.  Some of the guesses have been fantastic.  “That smells like bunk!” was my favorite.

In looking back at the list of things, I see that they are really not that extensive.  I realize that many people have triple the activities listed above to shuttle their children to.  I have never been the type to over-schedule the girls.  Piano has really been our only extra-curricular activity, with the skating lessons being a small eight-week diversion.

I am glad.  Holy crap.  When does anyone have any time to screw off?


Actions

Information

6 responses

23 01 2008
ultratoast

Bunk?

What is Bunk?

23 01 2008
ifswallowed

Ultra Toast – please see definition (#1) here:

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=bunk

23 01 2008
renn

I’m with you on the over-scheduling. Nooze wants to join tae-kwon do or karate, and I am still “iffy” on that. I just can NOT run A-Z 7 days a week. We’ll see after summer is finished.

Nooze was allowed to participate in the EOTGW Science Fair a few weeks ago. Her project theme was “Does your body temperature change after you eat?” We took our temps 15 minutes before and 15 minutes after dinner every night. Oddly, it was a lot of fun.

For giggles, my entries/responses to your girls are 1) I’m WAVING! and 2) Frosted Flakes dipped in honey.

24 01 2008
Ant

If your girls don’t grow up to be scientists I think it’s going to be a small miracle…

Then they can create the ultimate Shari-Planner. And it will rule the world…

25 01 2008
No Celery Please

Those are EXCELLENT science fair experiments!

28 01 2008
ultratoast

Ah.

I see.

Many thanks!

Leave a comment